Abandoned daughter (poetry)

I hardly weigh 10 pounds

Still I’m like a burden for some.

Unlike other kids, I’m not loved

I got abandoned

Along with my mother

By my so-called father,

For whom marriage was just a game,

Least he had any shame.

.

I feel mother is luckier than me,

Many are ready to accept her,

Still she hold a charm in her,

People say, she’s of some use.

.

But I became a stone in her path,

To get a new light in her life.

Though I can’t walk

And hardly can talk.

.

Some men don’t want a ready-made daughter,

For them, their genetic share matters.

Some men fear about expenses.

I didn’t even got all my milky teeth

I feed on milk, little oxygen I breath.

.

Someday mom may get married again,

Aunties won’t let her live in pain.

After which, I’ll be totally alone,

My right to be called as her daughter will be gone.

Her new husband may not want a ready-made daughter,

My story will be shared in parties with hidden laughter.

After all, I’m an abandoned daughter,

No one wants me, because genetic share matters..

©® Sana Mahin..

Written with a heavy heart..

11 thoughts on “Abandoned daughter (poetry)

Leave a comment